1. AFT is Celebrating its 15th Consecutive Year of Helping Freshwater Turtles & Turtle Keepers Online and 21st Year with the AFT Care Guide. Thank you for being a part of AFT!

Diet

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Suzanne, Jul 9, 2017.

1. Suzanne

Suzanne Egg

Hello everyone, I'm new to this and still working my way around I'm wondering if it's OK to feed my baby turtle pellets from the pet shop, they get ignored by my baby and prefers mealworms and earthworms, which are sometimes hard to get, what do I do?
    Thank you.

#1 Suzanne, Jul 9, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 9, 2017
  2. Rodney

Rodney Juvenile Turtle

Hi Suzanne

If you have a long neck it will probably not eat pellets. Mealworms are not suitable as food for turtles. Their hard exoskeleton may cause intestinal blockages and they are high in fat content.

Short necks will eat pellets and AFT recommends several on the threads. But short necks should predominantly eat plants. Duckweed is good with its high calcium content.

Earthworms and silkworms are good for both long and short necks turtles.
    --- Double Post Merged, Jul 9, 2017, Original Post Date: Jul 9, 2017 ---
    Also Suzanne feeder fish such as live bearers including guppies, platies, swordtails, mollies and Gambusia are also suitable. In many regions you can wild catch the Gambusia for free.

3. Aussiepride83

Aussiepride83 Administrator
    Staff Member

Hi Suzanne and :aftwelcome:

Please tell us what species your turtle is, if you're unsure, upload a photo of it here and I'll tell you.

Below are some of the standard posts and threads we ask new members to have a look at:

Please read the 'AFT Turtle Care Guide' :arrowright: AFT Freshwater Turtle Care Guide

The following is essential reading Quick Reference Guide :arrowright: How To Set Up An Aquarium For Turtles and Feeding Guide

Why you Shouldn't Keep Two Turtles Together :arrowright: Keeping Two Turtles Together