1. AFT is Celebrating its 16th Consecutive Year of Helping Freshwater Turtles & Turtle Keepers Online and 22nd Year providing the AFT Care Guide. AFT is a not-for-profit charity administered 100% by voluntary staff only.

Hi.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by PJA, Oct 25, 2017.

1. PJA

PJA Egg

A few Turtle people said I should Join this forum to get Ideas for a few new above ground ponds I want to set up. I have been keeping Aussie Turtles since 1999 in Brissy and currently have a 3000L pond with a few species I want to separate into larger ponds as well as a few tanks of their offspring I want to move outside now they are larger.

2. smoyle

smoyle Adult Turtle
    Staff Member

Hey mate, welcome to AFT, have a look around, there's a ton of info on pretty much anything you could wish to know.

3. Craig

Craig Founding Member/Administrator/Public Officer
    Staff Member

4. Aussiepride83

Aussiepride83 Administrator
    Staff Member

G'day mate and :aftwelcome:

What species of turtles do you keep and breed?

5. PJA

PJA Egg

Hey there, I currently keep Brisbane River turtles (could be hybrids as they are peoples unwanted pets), Saw-shells, one male Krefft and a pair of ELNs. The Brisbane Rivers / Saw-shells and ELNs have all bred over the last few years, most of the turtles are from people who have lost interest in keeping them (all on licence) but I stopped accepting turtles about 5 years ago due to room.

I'd like to separate the different species into their own ponds as I have read the Brisbane Rivers and Saw-shells can interbreed (the Krefft is on his own). They have all been kept outside the pond has a great bio filter, pH, GH and NO3 is checked regularly.

I need to make a few larger ponds and I will connect them all up for a greater water volume, hopefully I will have another four or so 2m x 2m ponds sorted once I have time to start building,so just looking at how others make their setups.

6. Aussiepride83

Staff Member