1. AFT is Celebrating its 16th Consecutive Year of Helping Freshwater Turtles & Turtle Keepers Online and 22nd Year providing the AFT Care Guide. AFT is a not-for-profit charity administered 100% by voluntary staff only.

Pig-nosed turtles

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bli909, Sep 12, 2017.

1. bli909

bli909 Egg

c94a622c4e97c84dc90ae8363a1b7483.jpg 0c8a7b7ad939fe2f5fd2b729831cb3f5.jpg f345d544f60e743a5b3804e4dbdfdd54.jpg a64294704597bede021fac293b1ca498.jpg
    I am just curious as to what are the reasons that they are so rare here in their country of origin, but they are not even close to rare overseas? If it is being sold at this price in china, I don't think they should be hard to breed at all.

2. bli909

bli909 Egg

Hi everyone.
    I am a newbie to the forum. I was searching about Pig-nosed turtles this morning and was surprised that they are going extinct? Why are they so rare in Australia that some post I read said the price for a hatchling is from $1000-3000?
    I could remember when I was a child (2008) living in China before moving to Queensland. I bought one for ¥150rmb (25AUD) and there were heaps of them available in the market. Just had a search and they are now for sale at ¥250-300 (45-55 AUD) for a 5-7cm one. It does not look like they are even rare to me. Why is this happening? I could understand if they are rare to see in the wild but how come they are so rare that only few people breed them?
    Does anyone have any ideas?

3. Craig

Craig Owner/Administrator/Public Officer
    Staff Member Platinum Level Supporter

Hi and welcome to AFT.

Yes, the answer is simple. No one has ever been able to successfully breed this species in captivity.

Three reasons behind this are because they are such a large freshwater turtle and they require tropical water temperatures and very large breeding facilities with large sandy nesting banks.